A Colorful Peacock Inspired Wedding in Alabama

A Colorful Peacock Inspired Wedding in Alabama

Posted FEB 7 2014 by ANGELA WASHINGTON in  with 1 COMMENT

Brittany and Bobby Sharp wanted to have a colorful, couture wedding that represented the vibrancy of their love for each other, their family and their culture.  So Eliana of ellyB Eventsworked with the couple to execute a “Peacock Couture” wedding, full of purple, green and blue flowers and décor. Guests were moved by their church ceremony, which started with soul stirring gospel music that allowed their guests to rejoice and bless the union they were going to witness. Brittany looked angelic in her unique, fashion forward dropped waist Ian Stuart Dress and handmade Ranjana Khan earrings! However, both Brittany and Bobby agree that the best moments were seeing each other for the first time and feeling the outpouring of love and support from their guests. Cathi Milanes of Milanés Photography captured all of the exquisite details and special moments of this chic wedding, including the cutest little couture flower girls. Enjoy!

Brittany&Bobby_0455

 

Quick Facts

  • Wedding Date:  08/17/2013
  • Wedding Location:  Westin Hotel- Birmingham, AL
  • Wedding Theme:  Peacock Couture
  • Color Scheme:  Shades of Green, Purple, and Blue with Gold Accents
  • Wedding Flowers: Mokra orchids, peonies, hydrangeas, phaleanopsis orchids, and garden roses.
  • First Dance Song:  Justin Timberlake, “Spaceship Coupe”! My husband chose this song.  It fits us so well and carried out the theme that existed from our vintage airplane engagement photoshoot.
  • Wedding Cake Flavors: Vanilla, Chocolate, and Salted Caramel
  • Wedding Menu Favorite: Delmonico Rib-eye that was placed over cheddar mashed potatoes and roasted asparagus. Guests were shyly asking if they could get seconds!

Brittany&Bobby_0031

Brittany&Bobby_0034

Brittany&Bobby_0048

Brittany&Bobby_0042

Brittany&Bobby_0061

Brittany&Bobby_0073

Brittany&Bobby_0083

Brittany&Bobby_0101

Brittany&Bobby_0133

Brittany&Bobby_0056

Brittany&Bobby_0155

Brittany&Bobby_0158

Brittany&Bobby_0178

Brittany&Bobby_0198

Brittany&Bobby_0447

Brittany&Bobby_0207

Brittany&Bobby_0428

Brittany&Bobby_0429

Brittany&Bobby_0223

Brittany&Bobby_0228

Brittany&Bobby_0306

Brittany&Bobby_0318

Brittany&Bobby_0333

Brittany&Bobby_0350

Brittany&Bobby_0472

Brittany&Bobby_0561

bdjgfjgd

dbhfhhig

Brittany&Bobby_0639

Brittany&Bobby_0682

Brittany&Bobby_0714

Brittany&Bobby_0976

Brittany&Bobby_0975

Brittany&Bobby_0968

Brittany&Bobby_0967

Brittany&Bobby_0966

Brittany&Bobby_0965

Brittany&Bobby_0755

Brittany&Bobby_0823

Brittany&Bobby_0728

Brittany&Bobby_0726

Brittany&Bobby_0725

Brittany&Bobby_0720

Brittany&Bobby_0721

Brittany&Bobby_0718

Brittany&Bobby_1009

 

Wedding Style 

If I could think of two words to describe my dress, I would say theatrical and show stopping. I remember when I first began my dress search I was strictly looking for designers who created one of a kind pieces that would literally make your jaw drop. When I found Ian Stuart, I knew that I had found my designer! The dress featured a strapless sweetheart neckline encrusted with beads and crystals, along with an expertly draped drop waist bodice that lead to an explosion of flowers in tulle and lace on the magnificent skirt. A scattering of petals and leaves trickled down the tulle chapel train. My favorite accessory without a doubt would have to be my earrings, which were handmade by Ranjana Khan. Long stemmed clusters of twinkling crystal topped the chiffon bouquet earring design that literally looked as though they were made to compliment my dress!

Incorporation of Culture

One thing that I love about the African-American culture is the deep roots that exist within gospel music. I’ve experience the power that this genre of music has on so many people and the mood that it sets. To bring that mood into our wedding, I enlisted my childhood church’s praise team to perform a short concert before the ceremony began. Guests were able to praise and worship God for all the wonderful things that he has done for his children, in particular the union that he was about to bless in the wedding of my husband and I.

Most Memorable Moment 

From the bride: Every time I look back on our wedding day, the first memory that comes to my mind, is the moment that the doors to the church opened and I saw my groom. I remember that there were people sitting as far back as the last pew in the church, and still with all those people my attention was on him. It literally felt as if we were the only people in the room. That is a moment in time that I will cherish forever.

From the groom: The best memory from the wedding for me was just seeing everyone that I hadn’t seen in years, all under one roof and partying with my friends that I’ve grown up with since elementary school.

Advice for Newly Engaged Couples

If I could give ANY advice to newly engaged couples it would be to immediately start composing your invitee list along with addresses. Getting this done early will immensely help in the long run. This was such a long task for us, because with over 200 guests, we had a lot of addresses to compile. Also it’s important to note that you are just compiling the addresses, but you’ve got to get correct spellings of names, correct titles of how to address your guests, and a guest count of who will be bringing a guest. So pull out your excel spread sheets and get started on this NOW!

Brittany&Bobby_0689

 

Vendors

Leave a Reply

